Tags

, , ,


I’m reading Job right now. The first few chapters explain how righteous Job was in his life, then the taunting and sorrow caused by the Evil One. To add insult to injury, Job’s friends (?) tell him every thing, including bad situations, are caused by his disobedience to God. Chapter after chapter of accusations and misguided advice from well-meaning friends then Job’s response; he is a right-living person, a judge, a family man and employer. He deals fairly with people and he is respected. Don’tcha know!

Job’ speech is a long one. He starts out humbled by his loss and then he gathers steam. As time goes on and the pain intensifies, Job pulls out the violin. He sings his song of sorrow and lament. Oh, he still believes God is the God of All. But as the long days of agony and anguish continue, Job starts to waiver. Job starts to question. The moment the questioning begins, the Devil has his hold; he prowls back and forth reminding Job of his discomfort and the aching torture he now feels.

But God knew the Job’s triumphal outcome in this desperate situation. God knew Job would question Sovereignty and knew Job would never throw God under the bus. Job’s God is our God! Our God only works for our good but sometimes we need a Blessing Reminder. That’s exactly what God did and said to Job. Wait a minute! Remember all the Blessings the Almighty God have given to you.

Before we say How Dare He insert How Dare I? How dare I forget God the Father gave me God the Son and in return God the Son gave His life for me and this world, leaving behind the Holy Spirit as my Counselor and Helper? How dare I forget every word uttered by me is known to my God before I even say the words. How dare I question the Almighty knowing He, alone, has a plan for my life and this plan is playing out at this very instant. How dare I question Sovereignty? Because He dares me to use my abilities and His plan for His purpose; a Holy Double Dog Dare! Get going and look for God’s plan in your life. Get going and find your new self!

Ephesians 4: 20-24: That, however, is not the way of life you learned when you heard about Christ and were taught in him in accordance with the truth that is in Jesus. You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.

