Tags

, , ,


I was reading a book about praying and praise. The author wrote about growing up on a farm with a big family. He wrote that his mother, morning, noon or night or during stressful times, would sit down at the kitchen table, place her apron over her face and pray! He also stated the kids knew not to disturb Mom when she had her face covered with her apron. Mom was spending time with the Lord!

I want an apron like the big family Mom. I want an apron so big, so wide and so soft that I can cover myself in God’s presence. I wonder what it would be like to see a woman’s head covered with a highly used and highly washed apron. Can you imagine an apron-covered woman sitting at church, sitting on a park bench, sitting at the mall or sitting at a stop light? What would I think? What would you think?

Would we glance over and think the woman was crazy? Would we even consider the covered-head person was spending time in prayer? What if that prayer time was snatched time; a few precious prayer moments stolen from her day? The apron protects us from spills, splatters and stains. Every day and each moment we get splattered from something or someone. Our children or spouse’s bad mood spills over, our fellow employee’s or our client’s splatter their displeasure, life situation’s, whether our fault or not, stain us with bitterness and resentment.

I want the prayer-soaked apron in my life. I want to go to Jesus with my tarnished situation. I want my prayer soaked apron to cover me with grace. So, if someday you see a woman sitting on a bench with a well-used and well-loved apron covering her face, take a second look, because it just might be me praying and praising.

Psalm 85:2: You forgave the iniquity of your people and covered all their sins.

Matthew 17:5: While he was still speaking, a bright cloud covered them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with Him I am well pleased. Listen to Him!”

