Tags

, , ,


When I was pregnant with our son, I knew he would be a boy. How did I know? Well, I just knew! When I would talk about my little boy or the fact I knew he would be a boy, people would comment. I knew they didn’t want me to be disappointed but I was not discouraged; I just knew. Our son was born on August 7, 1979.

Scan forward thirty some years. My son just married. He and his wife do not want any children and that’s ok for their lifestyle. Let’s face it; our world and its condition are not very promising, right? We have all sorts of weather disasters and other natural disasters. We have financial institutions failing, job loss, home loss, government failures, churches and families falling apart.

No, I cannot tell my son or his new wife that their life will be without any problems. I cannot counsel my son and his wife to conceive and bring a child into their lives. I cannot reassure my son or his wife that their world will be filled with happiness and sunshine.

What can I or my husband do for them? Nothing and Everything! The world says we have no control, no directions and no guidelines. We can choose to believe the world or we can choose to believe the Living Word. The gift of prayer is the simplest and greatest gift that my husband and I can possibly give to our son and his wife.

Even if the gift of prayer is not accepted by them; those prayers are working quietly and powerfully in the background; waiting for God’s perfect timing. His perfect plan will bring the right situation or the right person, the right church or the right song into their lives. God will unfurl His direction at precisely the right time. Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be dismayed; may the Lord give you wisdom and understanding. Happy Birthday, Son! The Lord is with you and our prayers surround you and yours.

1 Chronicles 22: 11-13: Now, my son, may the LORD be with you; and may you prosper, and build the house of the LORD your God, as He has said to you. Only may the LORD give you wisdom and understanding, and give you charge concerning Israel, that you may keep the law of the LORD your God. Then you will prosper, if you take care to fulfill the statutes and judgments with which the LORD charged Moses concerning Israel. Be strong and of good courage; do not fear nor be dismayed.

