Tags

, , ,


I’ve been struggling with peace lately. I need peace within in order for peace to flow out. Family circumstances, economy and old resentments keep trying to invade and destroy. Oh, I know where those feelings come from; I rebuke and bind those feelings when they re-appear. I awoke in the early hours of the morning with my un-peace-full-ness.

I grabbed my Bible and prayed, researched and even tried the “let the Bible open where it may” direction. Ultimately, my prayers eased my uneasiness; prayers of pleading for not only understanding but knowledge.

2 Corinthians 1:3 says: Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort.

The Father of Compassion; isn’t that a beautiful image? God is the God of comfort because after an hour or so; my sense of peace and protection returned.

Ephesians 2: 14-17: For He, Himself, is our peace, who has made the two groups one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, by setting aside in His flesh the law with its commands and regulations. His purpose was to create in Himself one new humanity out of the two, thus making peace, and in one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross, by which he put to death their hostility. He came and preached peace to you who were far away and peace to those who were near.

Jesus promises me His peace, if I turn to Him whether I am near or “feeling” far away. All dividing walls, all hostility is set aside when I abide in His promise. Jesus reconciled and created the one true and new humanity by His death on the Cross. He preached peace to all of us who will accept His peace. The Lord of Peace gives me harmony and reconciliation, at all times and in every way because He is with me. Listen to His Promise in 2 Thessalonians 3:16: Now may the Lord of peace, Himself, give you peace at all times and in every way. The Lord be with all of you.

