Tags

, , , , , , ,


My Dad loved to fish. He loved everything about fishing. He bought lots and lots of rods and reels. His tackle box was filled to the brim with all sorts of treasures. He spoke about fishing and dreamt about fishing. During his working years as a postal carrier, he often spoke about retirement and, you got it, fishing! His dream was to retire and fish his life away. He even bought a canoe for his fishing trips. He didn’t want the noise of an engine. He just wanted to spend time fishing and spend his time in natural settings.

What happened? Well, he had the gear, he had the boat and, once retired, he had the time. My dad drove to several area lakes and realized his dream. But, he didn’t enjoy fishing by himself. He wanted a partner to spend time with and enjoy the same recreational fishing. He started out fishing all his extra time but slowly, slowly his fishing excitement faded.

Isn’t that what we do with our walk in the Lord? We want a relationship with Jesus, we have the gear and the instructional manual; the Bible. We dream about the time we will be with Jesus. We are excited and then slowly the excitement fades. We think we want to fish alone; live our lives our way. But, we need Jesus partnership to succeed in any endeavor – from the start of our day until the close of our eyes!

Psalm 42:5-11 says: Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me?

Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God. My soul is downcast within me; therefore I will remember you from the land of the Jordan, the heights of Hermon—from Mount Mizar. Deep calls to deep in the roar of your waterfalls; all your waves and breakers have swept over me.
 By day the LORD directs his love, at night his song is with me—a prayer to the God of my life. I say to God my Rock, “Why have you forgotten me? Why must I go about mourning, oppressed by the enemy?” My bones suffer mortal agony as my foes taunt me, saying to me all day long, “Where is your God?”
Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.
Psalmist cry’s out twice – Why am I so downcast – why am I so disturbed? The psalmist writes of God’s direction, God solidness, God’s saving Grace. Still the psalmist is un-settled to the point of agonizing to the bone and his heart aches. When your heart aches and you cannot be settled; don’t down-cast – Cast UP. Place your aches, cares and hopes in the Lord because He is your Savior. Let His waves of comfort sweep over you.
Cast Up – I can’t wait to see what you catch!

Mark 1:17 says: Then Jesus said to them, “Follow Me, and I will make you become fishers of men.

