Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Do you remember a song by Paul Simon called Slip Sliding Away? Here’s the chorus lines: God only knows – God makes his plan – The information’s unavailable – To the mortal man – We work our jobs – Collect our pay – Believe we’re gliding down the highway – When in fact we’re slip slidin’ away.

We all believe God has a plan for our lives. He promises in Jeremiah 29: 11: For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

But, sometimes, we feel like we are slip sliding away. Why?

Hebrews 10: 32-35-39: Remember those earlier days after you had received the light, when you stood your ground in a great contest in the face of suffering. So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised … we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who believe and are saved.

We have been given Confidence and Perseverance and a Promise. God saved our lives through Jesus resurrection. Jesus makes things right. God takes our “side” because we stand our ground in the face of suffering. When we are at the end of our rope, He pulls us UP. Yes, we can believe we will be gliding down the highway, the Love Highway; the gift of a Gracious God.

Psalm 16: 1-2: I love God because he listened to me, listened as I begged for mercy. He listened so intently as I laid out my case before him. Death stared me in the face, hell was hard on my heels. Up against it, I didn’t know which way to turn; then I called out to God for help: “Please, God!” I cried out. “Save my life!” God is gracious—it is he who makes things right, our most compassionate God. God takes the side of the helpless; when I was at the end of my rope, he saved me.”

