Tags

, , , , , ,


Psalm 94 17-19 New International Version: Unless the LORD had given me help, I would soon have dwelt in the silence of death. When I said, “My foot is slipping,” your unfailing love, LORD, supported me. When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought me joy.

Same Psalm with New King James Version: Unless the LORD had been my help, my soul would soon have settled in silence. If I say, “My foot slips,” Your mercy, O LORD, will hold me up. In the multitude of my anxieties within me, Your comforts delight my soul.

Now The Message: Psalm 94: 17-19: If God hadn’t been there for me, I never would have made it. The minute I said, “I’m slipping, I’m falling,” your love, God, took hold and held me fast. When I was upset and beside myself, you calmed me down and cheered me up.

Three versions, same meaning; but the verses use slightly different adjectives. Sometimes when a verse or verses touch my heart, I like to look up the different meanings on Bible Gateway. I am not a minister nor do I profess any formal education in the meanings and stories of the Bible. When I read verse or chapter and look up the different translations, I am reassured of their true meaning; not the meaning I want to hear.

But the Lord gives me help when I feel like I am slipping. Only the Lord with His unfailing love can settle me, support me or when I feel anxiety within. The Lord consoles me, comforts me, and holds me up with I feel like I am not going to make it or when I am beside myself.

Whenever I feel a multitude of upsets; I can be calm and I can be cheered on by my Lord who is always there. Only the Lord is always ready to catch me when I fall and take hold of my hand when I slip.

Thank you for your mercy, Lord.

