Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Do you remember the musical group called Journey with Steve Perry? I love Steve Perry’s voice! But you will never guess in a million, billion, trillion years where I heard their song called Wheel in the Sky. The lyrics go like this:

Wheel in the sky keep on turning
I don’t know where I’ll be tomorrow
Ohhh – the Wheel in the sky keeps on turning

Recently my husband and I visited family in Arizona. We thought; let’s check out other neighborhoods in the Phoenix area. So we are drove around, pulling house fliers and checked out a couple of open houses. Nice area, recreation center, big trees and wide streets even some tax credits. Wow! Sounds great, right?

We pull into the parking lot of the main recreation center. We checked out the bowling alley, the pool tournament area, the workout center, the spa, an exercise room for the yoga and jazzercise enthusiasts. Then we walk over to the lap pool area. As we turned the corner of the lazy river/exercise pool; speakers were blaring the loud and rocking out Steve Perry as he sang Wheel in the Sky.

Not so unusual to hear music at a pool, though. Why was I surprised? My husband and I were checking out homes in Sun City, Arizona; a retirement development. Now I feel we are pretty cool grandparents. We still listen to Journey, ZZ Top, Phil Collins, John Cougar-Mellencamp, and Huey Lewis and the News. Christian Rock is my favorite but I still like to listen to other types of music, too.

But I just can’t wrap my mind around Journey at the Retirement Pool. Does Steve Perry feel like he is getting older? Can you imagine ZZ Top at the Sun City pool; swimming laps? How about John Cougar-Mellencamp singing and strumming around the pool tables? Somehow it just doesn’t fit!

I know my wheels are getting a little squeaky and need a little oiling once in awhile. I will concede I am feeling a bit older lately. Has our generation, the tail end of the baby boomers, lost our cool? Do others think we have lost our edginess, when even the Sun City Pool Music tapes include 70’s and 80’s music. When did out generation transcend from Classic Rock to Retirement Rock!

Are you ready to jump in the Retirement Pool where even the Oldies but Goodies still rock out?

1 Chronicles 16:8 says: Thank God! Call out his Name! Tell the whole world who he is and what he’s done! Sing to him! Play songs for him! Broadcast all his wonders! Revel in his holy Name, God-seekers, be jubilant! Study God and his strength, seek his presence day and night; remember all the wonders he performed, the miracles and judgments that came out of His mouth… (The Message)

