Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


I’m reading a great book series called the Yada Yada Prayer Group by Neta Jackson. The books were published awhile ago but they have now come into my life. You know I love one-liners; this book has a few.

The writer explains that Yada-Yada means to be known or to make known. If you add an “h” to the end of the word it becomes Yadah-Yadah meaning God’s knowledge of men (or God knowing man).

One line spoken by one of the characters was: “You are carrying a load as big as a dump truck.” In the story, one of the characters was crying, the prayer group knew she was holding something within, but, not knowing what caused the tears! I’ll let you find out the happenings if you choose to read the book.

That one-liner struck me. How many times have I felt like I was carrying a dump truck load; dragging unwanted or un-needed anger or bitterness or resentment?

Proverbs 20:12: Ears that hear and eyes that see— the LORD has made them both.

Oh, Lord, give me the strength to rest in your promises. Give me your eyes and ears for discernment.

Isaiah 11:3: and he will delight in the fear of the LORD. He will not judge by what he sees with his eyes, or decide by what he hears with his ears;

Oh, Lord, let me delight in Your ways. Teach me not to judge by my sight or judge by what I’m hearing.

Isaiah 30:21: Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

Oh, Lord help me from looking left and right. Help me to see the path you have created for me and walk towards You.

Here is one more one-liner from the book: Guess I’d be pounding new nails into the cross if I didn’t forgive you after all the forgiving God had to do in my life.

Oh, Lord help me to stop pounding new nails into the Cross. Help me with forgiveness. You have blessed my life. Help me to return the same forgiveness to others in my life.

Acts 26:18: to open their eyes and turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan to God, so that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me.’

