Tags

, , , , , , ,


A couple of days before Super Bowl I was watching the cooking channel. One of the famous women at Food TV was giving directions about great and fattening recipes for bowl parties. I’ll give you a hint – butter-butter-butter and fry-fry-fry.

One of the recipes was for a Blooming Onion. One huge, Vidalia onion was pealed, turned over and sliced into slim sections – but very importantly – those sections were not cut through to the core. Then the onion was dipped into a batter, fluffed up a bit and fried until cooked through. Even though I am not crazy about onions, fried or not, the Blooming Onion looked fantastic.

Have you ever felt like a blooming onion? Has your spiritual self felt, at times, that God is carefully pealing you, giving you a good turn around, and slicing your life into thin sections – all the while keeping your Core intact? Have you felt like your life has been dipped into batter, fried up and cooked through and through?

I know I’ve felt like God has put me through the fry-zone a couple of times in my life. He turned me over and fluffed me up. In the end, that “hot spot” in my life was for my own good and God gave me the life-lessons I needed at that time.

So keep Blooming in the Hot-Spots of your life – God will not cut you to the core – Your life will look fantastic when God finishes the recipe.

Psalm 71: 21-23: Thou shalt increase my greatness and comfort me on every side. I will also praise Thee with the psaltery, even Thy truth, O my God; unto Thee will I sing with the harp, O Thou Holy One of Israel. My lips shall greatly rejoice when I sing unto Thee; and my soul, which Thou hast redeemed

