Tags

, , , , , ,


Colossians 3:12-17: Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Singing songs from the Spirit! Doesn’t that sound like an invitation; an invitation to divest ourselves from anger, pain and disappointment? Colossians 3: 12-17 invites us to teach and admonish through psalms, hymns and songs. Another smack myself on the head moment! I love Christian music especially Christian rock. The music touches my soul. Once again, I’m reminded to have peace in my life and be thankful for every thing! If any teaching or warning, scolding, rebuking or just plain chewing out needs to be done in someone else’s life, I need to get out of the way; the teaching and chewing needs to be done through the Bible psalms and songs.

When gratitude and praise flow from my mouth, then, I can be thankful and peaceful. Then I can be tranquil and satisfied. I can be undisturbed and serene. My gratitude will over-flow from my Christ-filled heart to my Peace-in-Christ mouth. Oh, how I struggle with the words coming out of my mouth. I am working on re-learning new habits instead of wasting my time on the old habits. STOP! Before I speak find calmness and composure. Harness myself with the armor of Truth and Love because my love is a conditional love. As much as I want to say I love you no matter what happens, I still find myself asking others to march to my drummer and not their own drumming.

I want to be that peaceful warrior of Christ. I want to be so filled with the Spirit that the Living Word spills, floods, pours out and burst through me to others. No more battles, no more “get backs”, no more “say backs”. Just the knowledge God not only has a plan for me but a plan for others too. He is fighting the battle for me and others. His plan is supreme. He wins every war and battle. I’m just here to learn from Him and His Son and to be Spirit-filled to the brim with His peace.

