Tags

, , , , , , ,


Across the street from where we live is an empty plot of land. When we moved in, the land was barren; the usual desert natural landscape with a few desert shrubs and lots of tumbleweeds. Suddenly, there was activity with bulldozers, blades attached, merrily scraping the plot of land; leveling the surface. Right now there is silence, but, soon we will have a parade of construction workers, pouring, pounding and building.

Jesus does the same construction on our souls. We come to him covered in weeds and thorns. When we ask for His saving grace, Jesus immediately gets to work; scraping, pounding and re-building our life. He forgives us our “weeds” and forms us into the new and beautiful.

Psalm 32: 1-2 says: Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. Blessed is the one whose sins the LORD does not count against them and in whose spirit is no deceit.
 Psalm 32 5-7 goes on to say: Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD.” And you forgave  the guilt of my sin. Therefore let all the faithful pray to you while you may be found;  surely the rising of the mighty waters will not reach them. You are my hiding place;  you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.
When we acknowledge our sin and confess, He forgives and protects. He is our hiding place; our new shelter. We have been scraped clean. Our foundation is new and nothing, nothing will rock the Foundation of the Lord. Welcome to your new Home.
 (Built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone) – Ephesians 2::20

