Tags

, , , , , , , ,


My daughter has a new man in her life. Both have been in previous relationships and they are currently in the “getting to know you but I sure like you” stage. Our daughter lives in Vegas (an hour away) so we are receiving phone-updates every few days.

During one of the bringing-us-up-to-date conversations, our daughter said that she and her new “beau” were talking about the differences between men and women. You know, sort of the Mars/Venus concept. He brought up the fact that men have an “empty box”. This is a part of a man’s brain where they can “run to and/or hide” at any time – just to be!

My daughter and I started talking about such a concept. In my experience, a woman does not have the capacity for an empty box. Think about it – just for a moment. Most women want to run to a “Empty/Quiet Area of the Brain” but this is what will actually happen in her “Empty Box”.

1. I’ve arrived at my Empty Box
2. Ok, why is this box so quiet
3. Mmmm; I’m bored – Why can’t I relax?
4. Why isn’t there any color in my Empty Box
5. This box needs some sprucing up
6. I need to go shopping to “fix up” my Empty Box
7. I need to call a friend and talk about my Empty Box
8. I need some music
9. Oooh! Music! Let’s Clean
10. Why am I so tired in my Empty Box – I need some Chocolate

You see! Women just can’t and I mean CANNOT stop their minds from flitting to and from. We need to fix something or talk to someone or dance or clean or eat or shop. Now, I don’t think this is necessarily a bad thing.

Men need women to pull them out and talk about their feelings. Boys have “no pain/no gain” and “Crying is for Girls” ingrained into their brains. Women help men and Men help women; it’s the teeter-totter of life.

That’s why I love my early morning Prayer-time! The Lord takes me for ME. He loves me for me. He lets me chatter away and flit from one worship prayer to the next. He knows how to bring me back into focus through His Word. Sometimes He spot-lights praise and AWE. Sometimes He places emphases on further training for me.

I’m not worried about my Empty Box – My Lord has me right where I should be.

Colossians 2:8 (NLT) Don’t let anyone capture you with empty philosophies and high-sounding nonsense that come from human thinking and from the spiritual powers of this world, rather than from Christ.

