I’ve been thinking of the childhood prayer Now I Lay me down to sleep. Then I read a blog post from Christi McGuire about teaching your children how to pray. Please see the post at Christi’s site: http://christimcguireblog.com/2012/05/25/teaching-kids-to-pray/
In Christi’s post she mentioned as a child she said the “Now I Lay me down to sleep prayer” every night before she went to bed.

I have to admit something! When I was a child I was really creeped out by that prayer!
Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep (like that part); if I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take (creepy part).

Being a tad older, I can find comfort in the prayer. I want the Lord to have my soul, my heart, my life. But as a child I just did not have the understanding. I was scared of that prayer.

Still the little kid in me wants the prayer to go like this:

Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray the Lord my soul to keep
Keep me safe while I’m asleep
Resting in Your love so deep

When I go to sleep tonight – He will keep me safe – He will give me rest

Matthew 11:28 (NLT) Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.

