Tags

, , , , , , ,


Father’s Day is Sunday. In Corinthians 1, Paul encouraged the men to be Courageous and Strong.

I remember the first time I ever saw my Daddy cry. My mom was in the hospital having their fourth child, my brother Timothy John. During the delivery my mom had toxic complications and both she and my brother were in danger. My mom still talks about that moment she felt an out-of-body experience; she actually saw her body from above. She remembers praying “Please don’t let me leave my husband with 3 children and a newborn.” She didn’t know her newborn was struggling at that moment too.

We believe to this day the Lord heard her prayer and He saved my mom and my brother. When my Dad got home that night, he checked on his sleeping children. Being the excited busy-body I was, I woke up and asked Dad about the baby. (Remember, at that time there wasn’t an ultra-sound informing you about the sex of the baby.)

My Daddy sat on the edge of the bed with his hands covering his face and sobbed his heart out. I started crying because I did not know what was wrong.

The first time I saw my husband cry was at my Dad’s funeral. Previously, my husband’s father passed away, I know my husband cried because he said he broke down in tears when he saw a friend of ours at the funeral. I did not see him break down on that day but on the day my dad died; he cried with me.

I am blessed to spend time with my brothers and friends of our family who have proven (by living examples) that you can show emotions, lead your family and stand strong in your daily life. I’ve learned a valuable lesson from these strong and courageous men in my life. You can have strength and courage when you show your emotions. You can stand firm in faith and guard your families. You can hold tight to your convictions and gave it all you have!

You see, they loved us without stopping and did everything for us in Love.

Isn’t that the definition of a Father?

1 Corinthians 16: 13-14 (NIV 1984) Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong. Do everything in love

1 Corinthians 16: 13-14 (The Message) Keep your eyes open, hold tight to your convictions, give it all you’ve got, be resolute, and love without stopping.

