Barking at a tree? The correct saying is barking up the wrong tree, but, apparently not in this household.

 

While decorating for Christmas, I place a lighted wreath on the hallway wall. Then, thinking I was Ms. Creativity, I place two lighted pencil trees underneath the wreath. Honestly, I was just trying to cover the dangling cords.

 

The lights down the hallway looked so festive. I love to look in every room and see some sort of lighted decoration during the holidays.

 

During our regular night-time getting ready for bed routine, we put our little Mitzu outside for her nightly bathroom break. She bounced back into the house and started down the hallway. She skidded to a halt and barked at the now darkened trees. One bark of surprise! My husband gently reassured her that nothing was wrong. He told her it was ok to pass by this new perceived danger.

 

Aren’t we the same when it comes to our life pathway? We get into a daily routine, feeling comfortable, when a new and unfamiliar pathway or perceived danger steps right out in front of us.

 

Have you been barking at a tree of doubt, fear or anxiety?

Keep on keeping on, my friend!

Our God is out in front of us and right behind us. He shines His light down the long and winding roads.

 

Psalm 139: 1-6 (NIV)

O Lord, you have searched me
and you know me.
2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
4 Before a word is on my tongue
you know it completely, O Lord.

5 You hem me in—behind and before;
you have laid your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain

