To all Mother’s and Hurting on Mother’s Day – God Bless

Lynna's Wonderful Life

My mouth has gotten me into trouble more than once… mostly because I’m trying to be funny and something goes amiss. Two of my biggest regrets happened on Mother’s Day. As a kid, I remember making a card for my mama and putting in big letters “HAPPY MOUTHER’S DAY!” Daddy would not let that die. It got us both into hot water, although I really don’t think I was at the age of spelling accountability yet. Mama was very less than amused.

Mother’s Day was always commemorated by wearing a rose to church. Red meant your mom was living and white that she had passed away. It was kind of a big deal to honor your mom with a bud. We’d ask a neighbor for permission to pick a blossom from her loaded bushes. One year I was especially cute… and unthinking. I came home with a pink rose…

View original post 534 more words

