Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


rooster

rooster (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Maybe you’ve heard of Bats in the Belfry or Indians in the Cupboard or ET in the closet?

How about Roosters on the Porch?

No, it’s not a new reality show or a Show and Tell E-Book.

Hubby and I have a rooster living on our porch. We didn’t purchase porch rooster or entice him with a juicy worm. Nope, this rooster showed up one morning and decided to stay.

Mr. Rooster was a little worse for wear. The back of his neck was completely plucked clean of feathers along with some tell-tale red marks. Me thinks he was in a rooster fight.

Hubby calls him Rooster Cogburn and I call him Turkey!

We do not feed Mr. Rooster and we assume he is getting his water from the potted plant trays on the porch.

Every morning we chase him off the front patio table (where he roosts and poops all night). He flaps his wings and flies off the table (who knew?) and squawks/gobbles like a turkey.

 

During the day Mr. Rooster hides in the car port and tucks himself under Hubby’s truck. Through-out the day we hear him crow.

 

Although the porch is not enclosed Mr. Rooster somehow feels safe on our front doorstep. He spent several days healing and now wants to set up residence. Any prowling dog or wily coyote could jump up and attack him but Mr. Rooster Cogburn is living with a false sense of security.

How about you?

What issues are taking up residence in the front porch of your mind?

Do you hide your feelings and dive for safety? What strong-hold is plucking your neck?

PSALM 18:2 (NIV) The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. 

Stop your flapping and squawking!

Stop hiding and pretending!

Grab you Shield – Gather at the ROCK – Your God IS your STRONG-HOLD

