Tags

, , , , , ,


Spending two weeks in sunny Arizona sounds wonderful, doesn’t it? In early May the Arizona mornings are still cool, the afternoons are warm and the evening’s mild.

One of the lyrics from a Chirstian song says: “We are one phone call from our knees”. (Closer to Love by Matt Kearney)

Well, I got that phone call two weeks ago.

My Mom is 87 years old. She is a very active; she volunteers at her Church and is active in the Senior Group. My Mom has a better memory than I do.  I often call her when I have forgotten some detail on one matter or another.

My Mom was driving to a Doctor appointment. She stopped at a corner to turn right, looked for traffic, saw that both lanes were clear and proceeded to make her right turn. When BAM a speeding vehicle hit my Mom’s car so violently that her vehicle spun and turned towards the opposite direction (facing oncoming traffic).

The air bag did not deploy. Mom hit the steering wheel with her face fracturing the Orbital Bone under the eye. Mom is on Comidin for heart/pace maker. Immediately, there was bruising. Her face was bleeding and there was a huge hematoma on her forehead. She fractured her wrist (which we did not know at the time)

God sent the angels ahead because there was a wonderful lady who happened to be a Nurse and her husband was a local city Policeman. They witnessed the accident and were in the right place at the right time. Everything was taken care of for Mom. The ambulance was called; the policeman directed traffic and the Nurse gave my Mom loving attention.

Mom ended up at the closest Hospital. After several scan and tests, the Orbital bone fracture was discovered. Since the closest hospital did not have a trauma unit, Mom was transported to a larger Hospital with an excellent trauma unit. After more tests Mom’s wrist fracture was found.

The Orbital bone had fractured into many pieces or shards (not sure of the medical lingo). A plastic surgeon was assigned and Mom was off into surgery. They placed a plastic piece under the eye to support the eye socket and all the shards were taken out (confirmed by another test).

Mom’s eye was partially stitched shut during the surgery so her vision was distorted. Plus you can imagine the swelling so Mom was seeing double. We purchased a walker for her to steady her movement and she felt much more secure walking.

Not one of our family members felt Mom should be by herself until the stitches were taken out. Mom lives with my sister but my sister works full time. I drove to Arizona which is about a five hour drive. I stayed with my Mom for the last couple of weeks.

I didn’t mind the hours-long drive because I turn up my Praise music and the hours melt by. I probably turn up the music way too loud but it drowns out my flat singing and I pretend I’m Natalie Grant for a while.

I am the only one of Mom’s five kids that is retired. It was natural for me to be asked to stay with Mom. BUT no one needed to ask me – I would have volunteered anyway. What a privilege, what a gift, what a treasure spending two solid weeks with my Mom.

We talked, laughed, cried. We worked on some computer projects she needed help with. We looked at family pictures and scanned them into the computer. Mom works on our family Ancestry and has been working on the family history for over 11 years. We watched her two favorite TV shows – Price is Right and Let’s Make a Deal.

This Mother’s Day, I don’t have to win a game show.

I don’t have to pick the right Door or open the right Curtain.

This Mother’s Day I celebrate the day I was born.

I WON the jackpot!

Happy Mother’s Day Mom

Proverbs 6: 20-22 (NIV) My son, keep your father’s commandment, and forsake not your mother’s teaching. Bind them on your heart always; tie them around your neck. When you walk, they will lead you; when you lie down, they will watch over you; and when you awake, they will talk with you.

 

 

 

 

