Tags

, , , , , , , ,


You never let go by Jeremy Camp  –  http://www.godtube.com/watch/?v=KDGDZGNX

The morning of Thanksgiving (2013) I woke up with huge blisters on my forehead.

Two days before Thanksgiving I was experience sharp, stabbing pain on my forehead. I thought, maybe, I had been bitten by some unseen spider or scorpion.

Nope, woke up Thanksgiving Day with the dreaded Shingles.

The first 2 days I felt tightness on my forehead.  I could not touch the area and was relieved no clothes would rub against my skin. I slept on that opposite side of my head so nothing would touch my forehead.

Along comes the weekend, shingles spread down my forehead and across the center of my skin between my eyebrows.

Shingles weaved its ugly web across my right eyelid, down my right nostril and invading my right cheekbone.

But that’s not all! Shingles even spread up my forehead to infiltrate my scalp.

My Internist gave me Valtrax for the first 7 days and told me it would run its course.

Then I woke up Monday morning with my eye swollen shut. My cheek was so swollen and red I looked like I was involved in a prize-fight … and LOST.

Fearing losing my eyesight or even shingles in the eye, I went to the Ophthalmologist. Thank GOD, my eye was spared but I was put on antibiotics for 10 days.

Of course, I read about Shingles and its symptoms on the internet. I looked on WebMD and Mayo Clinic.

Did you know that The CDC (Center for Disease Control) has a wealth of information on Shingles?

Did you know that over 1 MILLION people a year get shingles or any age group can come down with Shingles (if you have had Chicken Pox)? Did you know if you never had Chicken Pox you can contract Chicken Pox by being exposed to Shingles (during the first 10 days of breakout)

Did you know you could get Shingles on your FACE?

I didn’t either!

I also found out that the symptoms of Shingles can last for 2 weeks, 4 weeks, 8 weeks depending on the person. Each person’s recovery is different.

It’s been six (6) months and I still have the shingle symptoms on my face. I look like I have this red line directly down the center of my forehead. My skin is red, rashy, peely, itchy, burny, (my spell check is going crazy). I continue to experience sharp, stabbing, pain.

Oh there is medicine like Anti-seizure pills or Anti-depression pills but the side effects of these pills are worse than the post-herpetic neuropathy.  I tried the anti-seizure pill but I woke up with migraines.

That’s the diagnose –  Post-herpetic neuropathy!

The Doctor’s say it could go away or it may never go away.

What do you do when there is nothing to do?

Bless the Lord, oh my Soul!

Lord, I am giving this up to YOU.

You are the Great Healer.

YOU never let go of me!

For the Heart that Holds On

Still I will Praise You, Lord

 

*** PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE  – GET YOUR SHINGLE SHOT!  You may get shingles, even after receiving the shot but the intensity and duration will be much less*** 

 

 

