Fear … Depression … Rest

The ARC-ives

Elijah was afraid and fled for his life. He went to Beersheba, a town in Judah, and he left his servant there. Then he went on alone into the wilderness, traveling all day. He sat down under a solitary broom tree and prayed that he might die. “I have had enough, Lord,” he said. “Take my life, for I am no better than my ancestors who have already died.” 1 Kings 19:3-4 (NLT)

power of fearFear is an amazing thing. It can cripple our ability to reason wisely and focus on reality. I remember one time in particular when I learned the power of fear in a very real way and also the way in which it can affect us.

I was about seven years old and due to a family relocation, got to live for a summer at a borrowed cabin on a lake. I became friends with one of the…

View original post 1,258 more words

